On Leadership

“What is it that you love about leadership?”

That’s a question that was posed to me this morning by a woman on Facebook and, strangely, one that I hadn’t heard before.

As I sipped the day’s first cup of coffee, it didn’t take me long to realize the answer.

My first hero, as a little boy, was Joe Namath. Joe was the quarterback of the New York Jets who were a huge underdog in Super Bowl III. Nobody thought the Jets had a chance to win. Not the fans, not the media, and probably not even the majority of the players on the team. But when asked what HE thought about the Super Bowl, “Broadway Joe” as he was later nicknamed, said “We’ll win. I guarantee it.” He didn’t say it in a boastful way, yet he said it with an easy confidence. What transpired was the greatest upset in Super Bowl history.

Joe said it would be so!

So, by my definition, leadership isn’t just saying you’re going to do something. It’s saying it, believing it, inspiring that belief in others, and then being instrumental in helping them get it done. It’s a powerful word and a courageous and noble act.

What is your definition of leadership? What is it that YOU love (or like) about it?

Is it something that you seek, or something you strive to provide?

All great questions.

Joe Namath

5 thoughts on “On Leadership

  1. Maureen Vincent Austin says:

    So glad to see you back writing. I love reading your posts. Gives me encouragement. Miss you. Keep up the writing

    Like

  2. Maureen Vincent Austin says:

    So glad to see you back writing. I love to read them. Gives me encouragement. Miss you. Keep up the writing

    Like

  3. brufair says:

    Tommy…

    Leadership isn’t about being in charge. People who want to be a leader so they can be “in charge” are missing the true meaning. Leadership is about inspiration. It can be with 1 person or with 10,000 people. Its creating an atmosphere of camaraderie and inspiring those people to want to all work together for a common goal. Its, “Come on, let’s lock arms and do this together because we WANT to!”

    So I guess what I love about leadership, to me, is the special feeling that I get when I know I have inspired someone, from within themselves, to be greater than they thought they could be.

    Bruce F.

    *Bruce Fairclough * *860-982-5193*

    On Wed, Oct 19, 2016 at 9:03 AM, Welcome to Tommyville! wrote:

    > Tommy posted: ” “What is it that you love about leadership?” That’s a > question that was posed to me this morning by a woman on Facebook and, > strangely, one that I hadn’t heard before. As I sipped the day’s first cup > of coffee, it didn’t take me long to realize the ans” >

    Like

Leave a Reply

